The Truth About MY Grief

IMG_4045

As another Mabry Monday approaches, I wanted to let as many people as possible know why I love these days!

It is quite evident that we love to talk about our son and the strides he has made with the updates we continue to share. There are so many generous and caring people out there that genuinely care and pray for Owen’s healing on a daily basis. For that, my husband and I could never express how grateful we are.

But one thing you might notice is that on Mondays I post to remember, honor and share our daughter, Mabry Kate, and her story. I love this day because, the truth is, I LOVE to talk about her, even though she is not physically with us as Owen is.

I feel one common misconception people have about someone going through the loss of a loved one, in particular a child, is that they’re better off not mentioning their name. I believe this is out of fear that they might rekindle some of the sadness and tears associated with that loss.

The truth about my grief is that, for me, it is quite the opposite. I could talk about Mabry Kate ALL. DAY. LONG. I will openly answer any questions you have about her and her life. I will reminisce with you about memories you share of her. I will listen as you explain how she has touched your life. I will look through pictures and talk about each particular day and moment with you. I will share her story over and over again until the day I die. After all, she is and will ALWAYS be my daughter.

Just as any other parent loves to talk about their child and their accomplishments, so do I. Please talk to me about mine. Mabry Kate was able to accomplish so much in her short time here. She touched numerous lives, taught valuable life lessons and will save life after life, including her little brother’s. That’s more than I’ll ever be able say about my accomplishments in life.

Don’t get me wrong, there are hard days. And sometimes it’s not a whole day that is hard, but maybe it’s a hard minute or hour. For me, (and I can only speak for myself) those moments usually come when I am alone. I don’t usually break down in front of people. When I talk about her to people, it’s in the same context as you would talk about your child to someone else.

She may not be visible here in the flesh, but she is in my heart. She is with me always. And as I have written in some of my previous posts, she is really great at reminding me of this when I tend to forget at my weakest moments.

She and her brother have made us so proud. We are so honored and humbled that God chose us to be the parents of such an amazing little girl and boy! They are two heroic fighters who carry with them wisdom well beyond their years. We envisioned raising and teaching them about life, when in fact, they have taught us.

So if you know me, the next time you see me, don’t be afraid to ask questions about her. Don’t be afraid to talk about her. If you don’t live near us and only follow our story from afar via some sort of social media, don’t be afraid to comment, ask questions or like our posts about her. What you have to say is therapeutic and essential for me as I deal with my grief on a daily basis, as my biggest fear is that she will be forgotten. Never by us, of course, but in general. It will be my life’s mission to make sure she is always remembered and that she continues to touch lives in so many ways.

Thank you for continuing to follow our journey. Thank you for your continued prayers and support. We have been blessed beyond measure through such a huge storm in our lives. Words will never express our gratefulness.

One thought on “The Truth About MY Grief

  1. Katie says:

    You and your husband are amazing! Thank you for sharing your story, your life, and your children. Your ability to keep your faith while going through these last couple years is amazing and a constant reminder to me that with God ALL things are possible. Not only do your little ones touch so many lives, but you have been an ispiration to many moms as well. God granted you with one of the hardest task ever and instead of withering under the weight you’ve used it to share your faith, your complete trust in him, The Creator! Thank you for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

